Monday evening open match 6/09/10. Magiscroft Top Pond.

Hi all, I managed to fish the 3 hour Monday night match on the Top Pond where the fishing wasn’t too clever but it was still better than being at work or stuck in the house watching the soaps. I was pegged next to young Peter Dick who was trying his hand at gamesmanship during the match by declaring that he was only catching 1 ounce chub as opposed to the 4 ounce fish that he was really catching. He’s a smashing lad is young Peter but he’d never make a poker player that’s for sure. Young Peter was on the end peg and had started to catch smallish chub by firing out a few casters after an hour or so of us both looking for carp which didn’t seem to be present. I had Davy Smith to my left and he was struggling too. A peg further to the left was Neil (Chappy) Chapman who was also struggling and in fact headed for an early bath. I could actually hear Woody laughing and giggling with Wullie Mcauley who was to his left on the end peg. I managed to look occassionally and no one seemed to be catching steady.

These Monday night knock ups are not taken that serious and even though the fishing was hard everyone seemed to be having a bit of a laugh. I had gave young Peter a half hour start on me with the caster and small fish approach before I accepted that I wasn’t going to get any carp and decided to have a go on it too. It only took 5 minutes to get the small stockie ounce chub going and occassional small roach. I think I got a good 45 minutes to an hour out of it before it went hard and I went back to watching a motionless float tight to the bank with pellet looking for the carp which usually show up at the last knockings of the match. Unfortunately they didn’t show and all I had to show was a paltry 6lbs 8 ounces of small stockie chub and a few roach with a couple of 6oz chub thrown in for good measure. Not the best of matches but if I’m being honest I didn’t care as I was still on cloud nine after the previous days events at Orchill.

The final result saw my Magiscroft Blues team mate Barry Lindsay take 1st place with Scotland international Colin Hart back in 2nd and Scotland junior international and newly crowned only 48 hours prior Scottish junior champion John Baird back in 3rd beating me by 2 ounces.

Match Report on Magiscroft Forum

This coming week (Sunday 12/09/2010) sees me compete in the final Magiscroft club summer league match on Magiscroft’s Main Loch. Club secreatary Tommy Lauriston has joked that he’ll post directions to the Main Loch on the club forum. I haven’t fished it in ages if I’m being honest. There will be a few sore heads at that match as it’s the day after we all go out to celebrate George Glen’s 50th birthday in a day that is being billed as “ARMAGEDDON II”. Should be fun, bye for now.

Del-boy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment